The Toymakers


Rating
0/10

The Toymakers

Robert Dinsdale

Snappy Review

Sometimes when you fall into a Book Rut, a novel comes a long that not only ticks all the boxes, but brings you back into the world of words.
Whimsical and beguiling, this will appeal to the inner child, the dreamer, the need for everyday magic.

Synopsis

Do you remember when you believed in magic?

It is 1917, and while war wages across Europe, in the heart of London, there is a place of hope and enchantment. The Emporium sells toys that capture the imagination of children and adults alike: patchwork dogs that seem alive, toy boxes that are bigger on the inside, soldiers that can fight battles of their own. Into this family business comes young Cathy Wray, running away from a shameful past. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that the Emporium has secrets of its own…

A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist and Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus.